The best and worst software developer interviews I have been through

LORY
9 min readNov 13, 2022

How to identify and walk away from the worst and do not miss the best.

In this article sharing some interview experiences I ever had. worst and best.

Worst #1

Phone screen

I was asked about some SOLID principles, design patterns ( I was surprised HR asked me these questions), and past project experiences, one by one, in recent 3 companies. passed.

First round- passed

Leetcode easy level.

The first one was a very basic binary search problem, given a code snipped to find the bug (fix the index and get it running), solved in minutes. there is nothing much discussion on the solution.

So far it went smoothly.

Then another Leetcode easy. climbing staircase.

This is the problem.

It is a very standard DP problem. I gave him 2 answers. recursive+cache would make code more readable.

still not much discussion, we both agreed on the solution. passed.

Second round — passed

A leetcode medium- Trie. given 45 mins, finished in 30 mins.

Third round- failed

Then another person(so-called bar raiser) came.

--

--

LORY

A channel which focusing on developer growth and self improvement