No side project, but some new hobbies (to be good at learning)

LORY
6 min readNov 12, 2022

Many developers asked me: “what side projects do you do?”

“No, I used to do, but now I don’t”.

Why

Most of the side projects won’t be able to finish. why?

There is no business value. you will be bored.

Most side projects are just repeating another “CRUD” app using a different language, web framework, database, or cache with some fancy-looking structure like “Micro-service”.

If you never get it into production and get some real users, it’s just a toy.

So, this is not learning .but repeating.

Your day left with coding after coding.

Not a slave of tech trends or social media

I hear these over the years “Technology changes too fast”, and “new programming and new frameworks keep changing”. “so we need to continue learning so that won’t fall behind.”

Yes, So what. why can not pick it up fast when using it but spend most of my weekends just learning them?

And keep telling myself golang is much better than python ?So what, I must find a company hiring golang devs?

That is mad.

And do I have to exchange my lifestyle just to catch up with the new bleeding edge? or to be a rock-star developer to know how to build a “TODO list” in 5 different languages? or…

--

--

LORY

A channel which focusing on developer growth and self improvement