Everything I wish I had known when I just started my software developer career a decade ago

LORY
6 min readJul 29, 2023

This is NOT just another “I wish I know” list.

Begin

All points will be explained in developer language.

Let’s start.

Protect Your Time

At all your cost.

Once you joined a company, signed a contract, and started your first day on the job. day after day, you:

  • Work harder and harder
  • Fix bugs faster and faster
  • Submitting a huge number of merge/pull requests to prove that you are so damn good

To:

  • Be promoted faster in your job, and get more and learn more:
  • happiness, new technologies, building friendships, and more money.

but mostly you will be ended up OT day after day, nothing much has changed: not richer, not happier, but more bugs, more emails/messages/calls on weekends, more 9–11pms. year after year, 1%–2% extra came to your account.

Before you change jobs (again). please spend 5–10 seconds to take a look at the below interface.

Interface IdayOfWork{
int Money writeKillerCode(me, const int hours=8);
}

Then implement it in your day-to-day work, make sure it matches the below requirements:

  • 8 hours, not more, not less.

--

--

LORY

A channel which focusing on developer growth and self improvement